Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware

Old 12-04-2018, 08:34 PM

intermezzo is on a distinguished road
Default Hardware advice for an EW beginner, using a Macbook

Hi EW,

I'm an undergraduate studying composition. I have only worked with acoustic instruments, paper/pencil, and notation software (e.g. Finale/Sibelius). I'm new to DAWs, but I want to begin making MIDI performances of my compositions. For now, I am stuck with my Macbook Pro 2015, specs below.

Macbook Pro 2015
RAM: 8GB 1867 MHz DDR3
Processor: 2.9 GHz Intel Core i5

I am willing to eventually purchase a better desktop rig, like a Mac Pro, but I want to wait about a year so that I can learn more about DAWs / EastWest libraries / choosing hardware / ensuring proper connections (e.g. how to properly connect multiple external hard drives to a USB hub without limiting bandwidth).

So, I basically want to learn the ropes of EastWest via my MacBook, before investing in a more serious setup. Given that, I would really appreciate your advice on how to make the most of my current set up. I have purchased EW Composer Cloud.

Some questions I have:
1. Does anyone have experience upgrading MacBook Pro RAM (unscrewing the laptop and manually installing)? By reading these forums it seems that 8GB of RAM is quite undesirable.

2. I have seen these forums recommend Samsung T3/T5s for external, and EVOs for internal. Since EVOs are cheaper, has anyone had success in buying an external casing for an internal drive (SATA to USB or thunderbolt)?