Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2018, 08:44 PM
bluearrows bluearrows is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 27
bluearrows is on a distinguished road
Default Which Instrument Am I Using

I'm using East West inside Sonar X3. I opened a track I haven't worked on for a while and in this piece there's a cello track.When I open the output of this track to open the Play Browser, it always show the instrument I last loaded which is from a totally different piece of music, not the one that is playing.The Cello still plays but I'm looking at a Bansuri on the interface.Is there anyway I can change this?
For instance in this piece which uses a cello,I don't remember which Cello it is and the browser is showing an instrument from Ra which I last used.
Does that make sense ?

Cheers
Justin
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-10-2018, 01:10 AM
Mykndrdyd Mykndrdyd is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 26
Mykndrdyd is on a distinguished road
Default

Don't know if this will work but if you mute all tracks except the one you want to identify in Sonar, then go to the Play VST. On the Player (not Browser) page, it will list the loaded instruments that are being triggered. Click each one until you see the one that is receiving the midi input. Hope this makes sense and I'm assuming you are sending midi data to Play from a midi track within Sonar.

Good Luck.
Mike.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2018, 12:04 AM
bluearrows bluearrows is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 27
bluearrows is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2018, 07:03 PM
peter5992's Avatar
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 5,249
peter5992 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluearrows View Post
I'm using East West inside Sonar X3. I opened a track I haven't worked on for a while and in this piece there's a cello track.When I open the output of this track to open the Play Browser, it always show the instrument I last loaded which is from a totally different piece of music, not the one that is playing.The Cello still plays but I'm looking at a Bansuri on the interface.Is there anyway I can change this?
For instance in this piece which uses a cello,I don't remember which Cello it is and the browser is showing an instrument from Ra which I last used.
Does that make sense ?

Cheers
Justin
The GUI shows the last instrument that you recently loaded up in any project, which may be very different from the instrument that is actually inserted on the track.

This can be a bit confusing, I'm not sure if there is a way to change the default behavior. I got used to it a while ago, and the new Play 6 interface makes browsing around a lot easier, so for me it's really a minor quirk.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.