Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 05-15-2011, 11:54 PM
christerholm's Avatar
christerholm christerholm is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,273
christerholm is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliancs View Post
I also have Windows partitions for testing games & the other stuff everyone has on their computers (can only afford one!), so I'd need more than 120GB.
You don't need to have all that other stuff on the SSD, keep your SSD for DAW partition and samples only, and the other windows installations and stuff you can keep on a regular HDD
__________________
i7 2600k, 32GB, Win7 + Cubase 6.07 x64 | RME HDSPe AIO | http://christer.catself.com/
  #12  
Old 05-16-2011, 04:51 AM
juliancs's Avatar
juliancs juliancs is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 413
juliancs is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to juliancs
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by christerholm View Post
You don't need to have all that other stuff on the SSD, keep your SSD for DAW partition and samples only, and the other windows installations and stuff you can keep on a regular HDD
True, but I would be getting one SSD for all my EW/Omnisphere stuff, then a seperate HDD for boot/logic and another for general crap. How would that perform?
__________________
www.jcsmusic.com
  #13  
Old 05-18-2011, 12:17 AM
Veneteaou Veneteaou is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 540
Veneteaou will become famous soon enough
Default

You don't want Logic and your OS on the same non-SSD drive. I would do this:

SSD - Samples
HDD1 - Logic and other junk.
HDD2 - OS and other junk.

Your computer shouldn't be composing and gaming at the same time, so as long as there is room on those two HDDs you want them setup this way to maximize output for audio. If you want games on the SSD as well, then I suggest getting a second one.
  #14  
Old 05-18-2011, 01:03 AM
aptmusic9 aptmusic9 is offline
Platinum˛ Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,238
aptmusic9 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veneteaou View Post
You don't want Logic and your OS on the same non-SSD drive. I would do this:

SSD - Samples
HDD1 - Logic and other junk.
HDD2 - OS and other junk.

Your computer shouldn't be composing and gaming at the same time, so as long as there is room on those two HDDs you want them setup this way to maximize output for audio. If you want games on the SSD as well, then I suggest getting a second one.
Interesting Veneteaou, I haven't tried this. I put Cubase and the project file on an SSD once, but I wasn't noticing a big improvement so I went back to OS HDD.
__________________
www.andrewpooletodd.com
Core i7 3930k - ASUS PX79 Pro - 64GB RAM - W7 Pro on 240GB Neutron SSD - RME HDSPe AIO - OCZ RevoDrive 120GB - Crucial RealSSD 256GB - 8 x HDD - Motif XS8 - Focal Solo 6 Be - Cubase 7.0.4 - Sibelius 7 - VE PRO - QL Spaces - Altiverb 6 - Complete EWQL Hollywood Series Diamond - SC - SD2 - EWQL Pianos - MOR - Requiem Choir - VSL SE+ - Symphobia 1 and 2 - True Strike - Pro Tools 10 and 11
  #15  
Old 05-18-2011, 01:17 AM
aptmusic9 aptmusic9 is offline
Platinum˛ Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,238
aptmusic9 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veneteaou View Post


Crucial SATA3 SSD 64GB, 415MB/s reads, $115 with promo code through the 17th.
Thats an awesome deal. Definitely a good choice. One of the reasons I went with the Revo drive is that I have exhausted all 7 SATA ports already

These 64GB SSDs offer great performance but the downside is the port(s) they take up. Especially if you dont have the luxury of SATA III, in which case you wont get stats like 415 MB/s
__________________
www.andrewpooletodd.com
Core i7 3930k - ASUS PX79 Pro - 64GB RAM - W7 Pro on 240GB Neutron SSD - RME HDSPe AIO - OCZ RevoDrive 120GB - Crucial RealSSD 256GB - 8 x HDD - Motif XS8 - Focal Solo 6 Be - Cubase 7.0.4 - Sibelius 7 - VE PRO - QL Spaces - Altiverb 6 - Complete EWQL Hollywood Series Diamond - SC - SD2 - EWQL Pianos - MOR - Requiem Choir - VSL SE+ - Symphobia 1 and 2 - True Strike - Pro Tools 10 and 11
  #16  
Old 05-18-2011, 10:49 AM
Veneteaou Veneteaou is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 540
Veneteaou will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Interesting Veneteaou, I haven't tried this. I put Cubase and the project file on an SSD once, but I wasn't noticing a big improvement so I went back to OS HDD.
Yeah, OS and sequencer don't need crazy throughput of SSD, just their own dedicated drive for I/O stuff they do.

[quote]Thats an awesome deal. Definitely a good choice. One of the reasons I went with the Revo drive is that I have exhausted all 7 SATA ports already /quote] I know that feeling.

Quote:
These 64GB SSDs offer great performance but the downside is the port(s) they take up. Especially if you dont have the luxury of SATA III, in which case you wont get stats like 415 MB/s
True, but on SATA II those drives can still hit 250+ MB/s which is far better than a 7200 drive (I don't recommend 10k or 15k drives for this stuff). If you can wait a year or two do it, but it wouldn't be a bad move to get one or two SATA III SSDs now if you need the streaming boost. They will also play well with the next system you decide to build.

I'm holding out on a new system at least until next year. Unless Eastwest decides to hand us 9 mic positions for each instrument, I get the feeling that the hardware will be cheaper and far more powerful than sampling requires in the future.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.