Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2018, 07:44 AM
Olly Olly is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London
Posts: 11
Olly is on a distinguished road
Default Legato not playing back properly - SSD?

Hi all,

I'm having some trouble with Hollywood Orchestra Diamond, specifically the legato patches. Most of the time when playing (via keyboard or pre-recorded midi) I experience notes being delayed or dropped out, or otherwise not playing back properly. This doesn't seem to be a problem on the non-legato instruments, but the legato ones are basically useless for me as it stands.

My assumption is that the hard drive is the issue; I have my old HO Gold samples on an internal 5400rpm HDD (too slow, I know), and the HO Diamond samples on the external 7200rpm HDD they were provided on, connected to USB 3. Both have similar issues.

My question is, will an SSD fix this legato playback issue? Or will it just speed up loading times? I want to make sure of this before I sink a few hundred pounds into a 1TB SSD.

My other specs are:
i5 2500k
8GB DDR3
OS Win7 64 bit, on 128GB SSD

(I realise I don't have much RAM, but I'm fairly sure this isn't the issue, as even a small-RAM instrument like a solo legato flute has the same issue while most of the memory remains free)

Thanks!
- Olly
  #2  
Old 02-07-2018, 11:21 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,937
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Olly,

to make sure: This (also) happens in Standalone and with only
that one specific patch loaded? Legato patches are indeed a
bit heavier than the rest (well, and then there are KS ... )

I haven't played via the provided HDD in years (it's lying around
somewhere as a back-up drive), but the 7200rpm USB 3.0 drive
that it is, shouldn't have any such problems playing back the
legato patches.

Perhaps redundant, but: Are you sure that's a USB 3.0 port?

In Play: Settings > Streaming > Cache Level. Try out the different values.
There might be a difference between numbers, but it also directly
correlates to the RAM, which might make it hard to choose.

I think the main problem is most likely your CPU, which is rather on the low end.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On Harddrives, On DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.30, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii

Last edited by LMW; 07-25-2018 at 03:27 PM.
  #3  
Old 02-07-2018, 01:47 PM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,829
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

Also, if you have room, transfer one of the libraries to your OS SSD and see if they playback smoothly. If they do, then investing is a SSD is a great investment at this point. And for sure (as you know), the 5400rpm, CPU and RAM are your weakest links. And perhaps an audio interface if you don't already have one.
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
  #4  
Old 02-08-2018, 02:36 AM
AlexMberlin AlexMberlin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 12
AlexMberlin is on a distinguished road
Default

are you using PLAY 6?
  #5  
Old 02-08-2018, 05:55 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,937
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

It's not a Play version issue.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On Harddrives, On DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.30, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii

Last edited by LMW; 07-25-2018 at 03:27 PM.
  #6  
Old 02-08-2018, 04:52 PM
Olly Olly is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London
Posts: 11
Olly is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank you all for your thorough replies!

I have tried the things you've all suggested, unfortunately without success.

Lorenz - yep, it still happens in standalone, and even with one specific patch loaded. I'm also sure it's a USB 3.0 port; speed test has confirmed this.

The cache level didn't seem to make a blind bit of difference to the legato playback either. As a side note, I could change the cache level of the internal drives, but not the external one, which reverted to 3 every time I tried to change it.

Would this mean it is most likely my CPU? I do find it a little hard to imagine my i5 would struggle to play a single legato patch on its own.

Jspencer - I have now tried this (moved the HOW Gold library to the remaining space on my SSD) but still experience the same issue. Can I therefore rule out the SSD being the issue?

For what I hope is helpful additional info, here is a link to a recording using the bass clarinet legato patch:

https://soundcloud.com/olly-muxworth...o-test/s-O1xNI

The recording is a quantised C Major scale, played back in Reaper (with ASIO driver) and with the following articulations:
1 - Legato off (sus)
2 - Monophonic true legato
3&4 - Legato Sim.

As you can hear, the Legato Sim patch is completely unusable; the entire 'legato' sample seems to be playing every time, and it's delayed a noticeable amount. These were exported in real time and have not been slowed down.

I'd be very grateful if you have any more insights into what it could be!

- Olly
  #7  
Old 02-09-2018, 02:49 AM
AlexMberlin AlexMberlin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Berlin
Posts: 12
AlexMberlin is on a distinguished road
Default

it seeems, that they fixed this issue....http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/s...ad.php?t=55445
Closed Thread

Tags
hod, hollywood, legato, playback, ssd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.