Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Closed Thread

Old 04-28-2017, 02:43 PM

GI Jim is on a distinguished road
Default Considering joining BUT...

Hello everyone!

I just registered on here to ask a few questions and check everything out. I use Logic Pro X and have always been a hardware guy as I've been sequencing on my keyboards for the last 20 years. Until recently. I started out with Logic's collection of sounds and have grown used to using software sounds now. I'm new to the world of samples and have spent the last coupe of months being AMAZED at the sounds and collections from various companies. The Gypsy collection blew me away along with so many other collections. I also checked out Kontakt's amazing set of sounds and am really confused which route to take.

I love the Composer Cloud idea because I don't have $11,000 laying around to buy that many sounds. I'm considering the gold service and buying the larger hard drive as I have slow internet. I'm debating wether to just buy the Gypsy collection and the Ministry of rock collection outright and not have a monthly fee. Then just buy more over time. So I have a few questions if anyone has the time and would care to help me out.

I don't know if I have the specs needed to make it work and I'm no computer guru. Here are my specs... MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2015)2.5 GHz Intel Core i7,16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3,AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2048 MB, and I have 399 GB's free. The IMac's total memory is 500 GB. Is this enough memory? Will I be able to just keep the library's samples on the HD they ship? OR, do I have to upgrade the memory? So lost here. I sent EastWest an email over a week ago and have had no reply. That leads to my next question...

How is their customer service? This isn't a good sign to me. Also, I see that they don't seem to be really pumping out new sounds very often like many of the other companies out there. Any thoughts?