Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)

Old 05-01-2017, 09:40 AM
Diamond Member

jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default Do DAW's Really Sound Different?

Ok, I know this has been beaten to death, and I can't believe I'm asking, but......

I recently sent stems to an editor that I've never worked with before, and he claimed there were "artifacts" in some of the audio. I played them several times through my monitors and headphones, but couldn't hear anything other than a little "click" in one of the files. They ended up using the stems, but told me that Logic X was probably the culprit (they wouldn't elaborate on what these artifacts were). I call BS on that claim, so I ask....

1) Is there really a difference in rendered audio from each DAW?

2) Going forward, should I render all audio in realtime vs offline? I admit I get lazy and render offline for bigger cues (and don't always play them through for final analysis), but perhaps that introduced certain artifacts? I personally suspect this may be the source of the issue.
Old 05-01-2017, 11:32 AM
Silver Member

Arnaud.G.Music is on a distinguished road

Hi Jeremy,

1) Short answer: no. The only variables that could make a potential sonic difference between DAWs are dithering, noise shaping and resampling algorithms that are used during rendering, assuming they're needed.

2) Yes you should, especially with Play. I'm currently working on a feature film with a pretty short deadline, and I bounce all my cues offline to save time and send them to the director asap for feedback. I get weird clicks in almost every single rendered cue. They're either pretty subtle and only heard through headphones, or they're clear echoey/grainy/glitchy artifacts.
I render all final cues online, making sure that I unload any unused track from my template to free up resources.

Cheers,
Arnaud

Windows 10 Professional 64 bits | Cockos Reaper 5.20 | Play 5.0 |