Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2018, 04:03 PM
Henrique Dib's Avatar
Henrique Dib Henrique Dib is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 93
Henrique Dib is on a distinguished road
Default RAID 0 or non-RAID for sample libraries?

Hi all,

I have 3 1TB SSDs inside my AKITIO Quad mini enclosure connected to my new iMac Pro via Thunderbolt 3. They will be used purely for sample libraries.

Should I keep them working separately splitting the heavier libraries on separate SSDs OR create a RAID 0 and put all of them in "one big 3TB SSD"?

Some people say it's better to go RAID 0 (Even the EW website recommend it) but some says no (as we are dealing with sound libraries thus lots of very small files). Please help!

Thanks
__________________
Henrique Dib - composer for film and media
www.henriquedib.com

Mac Pro (early 2009)
"Nehalem" processor 2x2.26GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (8 cores)
40Gbs RAM, Logic Pro 10.3.2, El capitan 10.11.6
  #2  
Old 01-10-2018, 05:36 PM
trumpoz's Avatar
trumpoz trumpoz is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,765
trumpoz is on a distinguished road
Default

HOLA fellow - aussie

My guess is that you will hit the limit processing-wise on your iMac Pro before you will hit the streaming limit of the drives in JBOD config. The thing is that if you RAID-0 you will get a performance boost in read speed, but I don't know if that would equate to a boost in streaming ability opposed to 3 separate drives.

Hopefully Patanjali (another Aussie forum-member) will stumble across this and chime in.
  #3  
Old 01-11-2018, 12:05 PM
Dmitry A. Stepin Dmitry A. Stepin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moscow
Posts: 5
Dmitry A. Stepin is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi. I have a hardware raid-0 out of four sata-3 SSDs. It has a total read speed of 2000 mb/s. I compared the sample reading speed of Play with this raid and a single ssd. I did not notice any difference. In both cases, Play does not read samples faster than 220 mb/s. Advantages of the Play from the raid did not receive. 35 powerful legato patches from Hollywood String simultaneously play without problems that from the raid, that from a single ssd. Unlike NI Kontakt, which can use all available speed raid.
__________________
PC: Dual Xeon 2690 v2, Supermicro X9DAI, 64gb RAM, R7 240, 256 gb Samsung 840 PROx2,
4x512 gb Plextor m5 pro raid-0 with LSI Megaraid 9271-4i, 3TB Toshiba x2, RME HDSPe AIO, Win 10 Pro for Workstations, Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 5, Eastwest HS, HB, HOW
  #4  
Old 01-11-2018, 03:30 PM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,961
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

If I remember correctly ... the answer is no.

I've just searched the forum for our most revered tech-god Patanjali and here are threads.
http://soundsonline-forums.com/showt...ight=patanjali
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/s...njali&p=767572

The actual problem for RAID is that no extensive tests have been conducted for sample use.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On Harddrives, On DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii

Last edited by LMW; 07-25-2018 at 03:35 PM.
  #5  
Old 01-11-2018, 04:31 PM
Henrique Dib's Avatar
Henrique Dib Henrique Dib is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 93
Henrique Dib is on a distinguished road
Default

hi to all, thank you so much for the replies. I just read everything in the links you posted LMW (thanks for that). So, according to Pantanjali the answer is NO - RAID0 is good to increase read speed BUT IN OUR CASE (sample library users), it is still better to have separate drives and put the heavier libraries in different SSDs. Great!

But please read this and tell me what you think:
https://vi-control.net/community/thr...-drives.43076/
Wooloomooloo is saying pretty much the opposite!

a bit confused now...

thanks
__________________
Henrique Dib - composer for film and media
www.henriquedib.com

Mac Pro (early 2009)
"Nehalem" processor 2x2.26GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (8 cores)
40Gbs RAM, Logic Pro 10.3.2, El capitan 10.11.6
  #6  
Old 01-12-2018, 02:35 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,961
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

I hope I'm not taking Wooloomooloo (jeez, I triple checked his name )
too much out of context, but his first post starts with the following two
words: In theory.

And that is pretty much the main problem with RAIDs at the moment.
Nobody has done any practical research on the matter. I'm not talking
about benchmarks and the like for the average Joe, but rather the more
complex subject of reading samples from dedicated RAID sample drives.

We've had a few samples, but consistent tests for various libraries?
Nothing. At least, nothing that I'm aware of.

I'll give you my perspective: Before you even consider if RAIDs are practical
from the technical side of things - there are two questions to ask, IMO:

- Would a normal SSD be enough? A single SSD is already quite fast.
If you only have one powerful library (e.g. HS-D / SO-Plat) on it and
then a few less powerful ones (e.g. Silk, RA), would it be enough?
- Do you have the budget? RAIDing SSDs is going to burn through your budget
faster than we do rockets on New Years. Given, it's usually only a one-time
purchase - assuming proper care of the drives - but the mere thought makes
my wallet shudder.

TL;DR: As long as there is still no consistent test-setup for RAIDed sample drives,
I'd still be wary of going down that path ...
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On Harddrives, On DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii

Last edited by LMW; 07-25-2018 at 03:36 PM.
  #7  
Old 01-12-2018, 02:54 PM
Henrique Dib's Avatar
Henrique Dib Henrique Dib is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 93
Henrique Dib is on a distinguished road
Default

hi LMW,

Thanks for your reply. I see what you mean. I will take the safest way for now then and continue work as I have been which is to use separate SSDs for my sound libraries. We can always go RAID in the future. Thank you a lot for your time and attention to this tread!
__________________
Henrique Dib - composer for film and media
www.henriquedib.com

Mac Pro (early 2009)
"Nehalem" processor 2x2.26GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon (8 cores)
40Gbs RAM, Logic Pro 10.3.2, El capitan 10.11.6
  #8  
Old 01-13-2018, 02:36 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,961
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

You're welcome.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On Harddrives, On DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii

Last edited by LMW; 07-25-2018 at 03:36 PM.
  #9  
Old 01-13-2018, 07:43 AM
Dmitry A. Stepin Dmitry A. Stepin is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moscow
Posts: 5
Dmitry A. Stepin is on a distinguished road
Default

For Kontakt-based libraries I would recommend a RAID with SSD or fast NVMe SSD.
__________________
PC: Dual Xeon 2690 v2, Supermicro X9DAI, 64gb RAM, R7 240, 256 gb Samsung 840 PROx2,
4x512 gb Plextor m5 pro raid-0 with LSI Megaraid 9271-4i, 3TB Toshiba x2, RME HDSPe AIO, Win 10 Pro for Workstations, Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 5, Eastwest HS, HB, HOW
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.