Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-02-2017, 04:01 AM
Redman100's Avatar
Redman100 Redman100 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bergamo, Italy
Posts: 10
Redman100 is on a distinguished road
Default If I have Symphonic Orchestra Gold, do I need Silver sounds?

Hi guys, sorry for the basic question...

I got the EW Symphonic Orchestra Gold complete.
Now I find in the EW Installation Center 10 GB of data for the Silver version ready to download, even if I haven't the Silver instruments in my Play browser: do I have to add this library, or these sounds are already included in the Gold version?

Thanks a lot!
__________________
"Per aspera ad Astra"

iMac 27" 5K, 4.0 GHz Quad i7, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD.
EWQL Symphonic Orchestra Gold, EWQL Pianos, EW Hollywood Strings.
Cubase 8 Pro, Presonus Audiobox USB.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2017, 08:27 PM
Fleer's Avatar
Fleer Fleer is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Boston/Cambridge
Posts: 377
Fleer is on a distinguished road
Default

Included.
__________________
Hollywood Orchestra Diamond, Hollywood Solo Violin Diamond, Hollywood Solo Cello Diamond, Hollywood Strings Gold, Hollywood Brass Gold, Hollywood Orchestral Woodwinds Gold, Symphonic Orchestra Gold, Symphonic Choirs, VOTA, Pianos Platinum, Fab Four, Ghostwriter, Gypsy, Silk, Voices of Passion, Spaces
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2017, 10:09 PM
Dominik Raab Dominik Raab is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,245
Dominik Raab is on a distinguished road
Default

Symphonic Orchestra Silver is a "lower" version; Gold has almost everything Silver has, and much more. That being said, Silver used to have (probably still has, I assume) two instruments that are not in Gold. A choir (that isn't nearly as good as Symphonic Choirs, of course) and a church organ. In my opinion, you don't really need those, but if you'd like to play around with those, you have to install Silver.
__________________
My music on SoundCloud


Using: ComposerCloud Complete | and a few Diamond libraries!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-27-2017, 10:53 AM
christerholm's Avatar
christerholm christerholm is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,267
christerholm is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

The way the Play version works, is that Silver is part of Gold. Like you have a whole pie, and 2/5 of that pie is Silver and 3/5 of the pie is Gold additions. So yes, you need to install all of it.
__________________
i7 2600k, 32GB, Win7 + Cubase 6.07 x64 | RME HDSPe AIO | http://christer.catself.com/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2017, 02:25 PM
Dominik Raab Dominik Raab is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,245
Dominik Raab is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by christerholm View Post
The way the Play version works, is that Silver is part of Gold. Like you have a whole pie, and 2/5 of that pie is Silver and 3/5 of the pie is Gold additions. So yes, you need to install all of it.
While this is true for the content (as in: Gold includes the same samples Silver has - plus more, of course), it's not true for product installations and folder structure. If you have Gold, you neither need the "Silver Instruments" or "Silver Samples" folders nor do you have to touch the Silver installation files in any way, on DVDs or in the Installation Center.
__________________
My music on SoundCloud


Using: ComposerCloud Complete | and a few Diamond libraries!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2017, 02:26 PM
Redman100's Avatar
Redman100 Redman100 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bergamo, Italy
Posts: 10
Redman100 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dominik Raab View Post
While this is true for the content (as in: Gold includes the same samples Silver has - plus more, of course), it's not true for product installations and folder structure. If you have Gold, you neither need the "Silver Instruments" or "Silver Samples" folders nor do you have to touch the Silver installation files in any way, on DVDs or in the Installation Center.
OK, so I will ignore the download button about the Silver Complete in my Installation Center.
Thanks a lot!
__________________
"Per aspera ad Astra"

iMac 27" 5K, 4.0 GHz Quad i7, 16 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD.
EWQL Symphonic Orchestra Gold, EWQL Pianos, EW Hollywood Strings.
Cubase 8 Pro, Presonus Audiobox USB.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.