Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-11-2017, 04:18 PM
bluearrows bluearrows is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 23
bluearrows is on a distinguished road
Default Mod Wheel Questions

Hi there,

I just have a few questions in regards to using/recording/editing with a mod wheel.i just wanted to get a bit more expression into my string and brass parts.
I'm using Composer Cloud inside Sonar X3 .My keyboard is an old Roland RD 300s so no mod wheel.
-is there a good work around e.g,buy a separate mod wheel on its own or a cheap keyboard that has a mod wheel
-is drawing in the mod wheel changes a complete pain in the arse
-can the mod wheel effects be recorded separately e.g I know i can record a piano part then go over and record my sustain pedal separately ( i don't need to do this) but just wanted to know would that work for a mod wheel.Record a string part then record the mod wheel for this part separately as i have not had the genetic ability to grow a third arm.

Any help would be appreciated,

Cheers good people
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-2017, 04:34 PM
Marcusmax's Avatar
Marcusmax Marcusmax is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 935
Marcusmax is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi

Yes you could use any keyboard that has a mod wheel including a cheap little controller. You can draw in the changes but it's less 'natural' or organic than doing it by mod wheel and is also a bit of a pain. You can certainly do a 2nd pass and just record the mod wheel data, then merge that recording with the first one. A lot of people without the third arm do it that way!
__________________
Mac Mini Server, 2.0 GHz i7 quad core, 16 GB ram / OSX 10.10.5 / Logic Pro X 10.2.4 / Sibelius 6.2 / Metric Halo ULN-2+DSP / Dynaudio BM5A monitors.

Hollywood Orchestra Gold / Hollywood Solo Instruments Gold / EWQLSO Platinum / Symphonic Choirs Gold / EW Solo Violin / Spaces / Stormdrum / The Dark Side / Ghostwriter / Ra + other libraries.

"Who looks outside, dreams. Who looks inside, awakens." - Carl Jung


SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/marcusmax

CD Baby: http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/duberry
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2017, 06:40 PM
Jdiggity Jdiggity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 54
Jdiggity is on a distinguished road
Default

If you like your keyboard, get a korg nanoKontrol and use a fader to control CC1 (modwheel).
Plenty of space on top of your keyboard. set it up for use with your left hand. If you intend on working with orchestral sample libraries more, it is worth getting used to controlling modwheel/faders while playing.
__________________
Master: i7 5820K @4.2GHz, 32GB, Win10
Slave: i7 2600k, 32GB, Win7 x64
Portable 2011 15" Macbook Pro, i7 2.3GHz, 16GB
Software: Cubase 9, VEP, PLAY, KONTAKT
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-2017, 09:43 PM
C4L88's Avatar
C4L88 C4L88 is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,535
C4L88 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes to it all!

My current external controller is a Novation ZeRO SL Mk II which I really like because I can hook up an expression pedal on the back, letting me use both hands to control whatever CCs I assign as well as a host of other faders/buttons/knobs that I've assigned in a variety of ways for different libraries

Drawing mod wheel data from scratch is going to be a much longer route, but if you're like me, you won't nail it down the first time, but this is where I personally may open up the editor and just make the fine touches manually

I record CC data over all the time. For instance, some of the synth plug-ins I have require 8 different CC controllers at the same time to get the most out of them; not too easy to do while playing! (worth it in the end though )
Just be aware of whether or not your DAW needs to have any preferences changed for it to work properly; mainly you want it to "overlap" rather than "overwrite" the prior recording
__________________
27" iMac 14,2
-3.5GHz Intel Quad Core i7 (Overclock to 3.9GHz)
-32GB RAM
-All Samples on External 4TB OWC Thunderybay 4
-Logic Pro X (10.3), OS X 10.11. (El Capitan)


SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/conrad-robertson

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music." -Gustav Mahler
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2017, 01:02 AM
trumpoz's Avatar
trumpoz trumpoz is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,714
trumpoz is on a distinguished road
Default

I use a TEC breath controller. Its great.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2017, 01:32 AM
mrdsee mrdsee is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 826
mrdsee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trumpoz View Post
I use a TEC breath controller. Its great.
I also have a TEC BC that you can rough in the assignable CC# slopes and then go back as needed and manually draw in corrections. With Pro Tools you can play, or pencil in the parts first, then go back and record the automation parts.
__________________
Intel 5820k OC to 4.5Ghz, 32GB RAM, Windows 8.1, 5-850EVO SSD's, Pro Tools 11.3.1
EWSO, Spaces, Goliath, RA, Pianos, Steve Stevens, Choirs, Fab Four, MOR2, Gypsy, Solo Violin, SD2 Pro, SD3, Ghostwriter, VOP, Dark Side, Hollywood Strings&Brass Silver, SSL/EW FX
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-2017, 04:47 PM
steerpike steerpike is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 99
steerpike is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluearrows View Post
-is drawing in the mod wheel changes a complete pain in the arse
I know you're set on a DAW already, but I'd give it a go in your choice program and see. For me, drawing in expression and modulation data is much easier (Logic), although recording is easy too. I'd humbly suggest that if doing this from scratch does turn out to be a pain it might be a good idea to look into replacing your DAW with something that makes hand editing this data easier. (I know it is equally easy in both DP and Cubase).

Just my 0.02. To each their own!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.