Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2017, 06:44 PM
eastwest7 eastwest7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 39
eastwest7 is on a distinguished road
Default Templates: Logic X vs. Cubase Pro 9

What DAW do you prefer for making EW orchestral templates and why?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-17-2017, 04:17 PM
SuperKons SuperKons is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
SuperKons is on a distinguished road
Default

This question could be extended, to include any DAW, really
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2017, 07:42 AM
C4L88's Avatar
C4L88 C4L88 is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,565
C4L88 is on a distinguished road
Default

I think the real answer to this is which DAW is someone most comfortable with

For instance, I'm very comfortable with Logic, so of course I'd prefer making templates there; it's the DAW I'm most likely going to use
__________________
27" iMac 14,2
-3.5GHz Intel Quad Core i7 (Overclock to 3.9GHz)
-32GB RAM
-All Samples on External 4TB OWC Thunderybay 4
-Logic Pro X (10.3), OS X 10.11. (El Capitan)


SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/conrad-robertson

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music." -Gustav Mahler
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-19-2017, 12:16 PM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,688
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

Agreed, it's pretty much the same process for any major DAW. Just stick with the DAW you're most comfortable with.
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2017, 06:54 AM
Jay Asher's Avatar
Jay Asher Jay Asher is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 526
Jay Asher is on a distinguished road
Default

I will again state that no matter which DAW you use, Vienna Ensemble Pro 6 is a huge help for this, even on the same computer.
__________________
Jay Asher, Composer & Logic Pro consultant
jay@jayasher.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2017, 07:11 AM
C4L88's Avatar
C4L88 C4L88 is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,565
C4L88 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Asher View Post
I will again state that no matter which DAW you use, Vienna Ensemble Pro 6 is a huge help for this, even on the same computer.
+1

Using VEP6 with only one computer and it's helped enormously on large projects
__________________
27" iMac 14,2
-3.5GHz Intel Quad Core i7 (Overclock to 3.9GHz)
-32GB RAM
-All Samples on External 4TB OWC Thunderybay 4
-Logic Pro X (10.3), OS X 10.11. (El Capitan)


SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/conrad-robertson

"If a composer could say what he had to say in words he would not bother trying to say it in music." -Gustav Mahler
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-20-2017, 09:34 AM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,688
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

Especially in Logic X!
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2017, 03:28 PM
SuperKons SuperKons is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5
SuperKons is on a distinguished road
Default

VEP 6 is my next purchase, in my list
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-10-2017, 02:50 AM
eastwest7 eastwest7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 39
eastwest7 is on a distinguished road
Default

Cool, yeah even before I hit these forums I read up a lot on Vienna Ensemble Pro/slave computer setups, I actually recently switched to Cubase Pro 9 and purchased VEP 6 so I think it will be pretty nice once I get it all set up. Was thinking about down the road purchasing a Mac Pro from macsales or constructing a PC slave from scratch.
So is it correct to think to use the more powerful computer as a slave and the less powerful as the master? When I get a slave I was thinking running my mid 2011 iMac 3.4ghz/32gb ram quad core as master and then getting a Mac Pro 8-12 core 3.2-3-4ghz /64gb or more for the slave, so the slave will take most of the CPU load and Ram. Also what's your general take on the signal flow between your DAW and VEP?
MIDI out from DAW into VEP & audio out from VEP into DAW? I haven't set it up yet but that signal flow seemed to make sense, does it matter how many instances of VEP you use, any tips on VEP setup to get the best CPU and RAM usage? I can probably figure it out, but never hurts to ask.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-10-2017, 03:04 AM
eastwest7 eastwest7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 39
eastwest7 is on a distinguished road
Default

After researching Cubase I just felt it offered everything Logic had and more. No knock on Logic though, I love Logic. One thing I will say is that I think the CPU core distribution is a little better in Logic, probably because it is made by Apple which works well with Macs-less CPU spikes then in Cubase, but it's close. Also I will say the transition from Logic to Cubase is really smooth, you can pretty much jump right in. I think they are both the best DAWS out there especially for orchestral template setups. So yeah I guess it comes down to what you work better with or what tools inspires you the most and cover all your needs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.