Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2016, 01:19 AM
Tux Tux is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Tux is on a distinguished road
Default Installing EW libs on a master/slave network

I want to setup a master/slave network and I want to find out if I need to install all my EW libraries on both machines. The master is an i7 iMac and the slave is a custom PC. Do I need to purchase a second copy of each library? Or do I just need to install a (license) dongle on each computer?
Thank you - Tux
  #2  
Old 10-28-2016, 10:02 AM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,750
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

You can install on multiple machines, but the license will need to be on the computer you are using them on (iLok dongle or machine license). Sometimes I'll just use the master if it's a smaller template, hence the reason I have the libs loaded on both machines. I actually have it mixed up now, where I use Symphonic Orchestra Gold on the master and everything else on the slave.
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
  #3  
Old 10-28-2016, 05:51 PM
Tux Tux is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 17
Tux is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks js - So it is possible to install the same EW Lib on both Mac and PC? You said - "You can install on multiple machines, but the license will need to be on the computer you are using them on." Does that mean I only need to have one dongle and that is for the master computer?
  #4  
Old 10-29-2016, 12:24 PM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,750
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

You need the dongle plugged into the machine that contains the library you want to use. For example, I have HS on the slave (with a machine license), and SO on the master (dongle license). So let's say you want all of the libraries to run from the slave, you would load the libraries there, and plug in the dongle.
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.