Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2016, 09:44 AM
StevenW StevenW is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17
StevenW is on a distinguished road
Default Play 5 Load Times w/ Pianos Platinum

When I open Play 5 in standalone and load up EWQL Pianos Platinum Steinway sus rep DYN, it loads at a speed of 4 MB/s. Is this normal? All 3 mic positions take up 524 MB so loading time for all three mic positions for a single instance is 131 seconds. I have the Macintosh HD setting to 0.

2015 5K iMac 6700K 4.0 GHz
32 GB Ram
512 GB Flash memory
  #2  
Old 11-18-2016, 10:42 AM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,677
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

You should be loading from a separate drive, not the internal.
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
  #3  
Old 12-03-2016, 09:38 PM
StevenW StevenW is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17
StevenW is on a distinguished road
Default

I now have all Play libraries installed on an external 1TB Samsung EVO 850 SSD inside of a Thunderbolt 2 Akitio Quad Mini, and I get the same result. Patches load at 4MB/s.
  #4  
Old 12-04-2016, 12:54 AM
trumpoz's Avatar
trumpoz trumpoz is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,737
trumpoz is on a distinguished road
Default

I know this is probably of no help - there is something seriously amiss. Those sort of load times are stupidly slow.
  #5  
Old 12-04-2016, 03:35 AM
StevenW StevenW is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 17
StevenW is on a distinguished road
Default

Problem Solved: The issue was Avira. For anyone who has Avira anti-virus for MAC, it will slow down sample loading to a snail's pace in order to scan each file. If you turn real-time protection off, everything loads lightning fast.
  #6  
Old 12-04-2016, 06:30 AM
John57 John57 is online now
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 28
John57 is on a distinguished road
Default

The reviews I read about Avira shows it is one of the slowest product on the market. Can you tell it to ignore your sample folder or a game mode that might help? On my PC I tell Microsoft Defender to ignore my sample folder. I have a fast machine and do not want anti-virus to cripple my PC work performance in DAW or video work.
  #7  
Old 12-04-2016, 07:05 AM
mrdsee mrdsee is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 843
mrdsee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John57 View Post
On my PC I tell Microsoft Defender to ignore my sample folder. I have a fast machine and do not want anti-virus to cripple my PC work performance in DAW or video work.
I also use this tactic, along with using the Play Purge Feature after parts are completed to enhance both reload speeds and overall performance.
__________________
Custom Made DAW Computer System by REMIS COMPUTER SOLUTIONS consisting of a Intel 5820k OC to 4.5Ghz, 32GB RAM, Windows 8.1, 5-850EVO SSD's, Pro Tools 11.3.1
EWSO, Spaces, Goliath, RA, Pianos, Steve Stevens, Choirs, Fab Four, MOR2, Gypsy, Solo Violin, SD2 Pro, SD3, Ghostwriter, VOP, Dark Side, Hollywood Strings&Brass Silver, SSL/EW FX
Closed Thread

Tags
ewql pianos, pianos platinum, play 5

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.