Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-06-2017, 03:00 PM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,727
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

If you have USB 3 ports, you should be okay for storing your samples on an external drive(s)....USB 2 is too slow. Please note, for performance reasons you must store the libraries externally, not on your C drive. Your audio interface would be fine connecting to USB 2.

Also, you'll need to upgrade your RAM to a minimum 16GB. I would check to ensure this is possible.
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-06-2017, 03:18 PM
newmusic newmusic is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 5
newmusic is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jspencer View Post
If you have USB 3 ports, you should be okay for storing your samples on an external drive(s)....USB 2 is too slow. Please note, for performance reasons you must store the libraries externally, not on your C drive. Your audio interface would be fine connecting to USB 2.

Also, you'll need to upgrade your RAM to a minimum 16GB. I would check to ensure this is possible.
Thanks. How can I tell if I have USB 3 ports? Also, 16 GB ram is for sure needed?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-06-2017, 03:27 PM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,727
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

1.Open the Device Manager.
2.In the "Device Manager" window, click the + (plus sign) next to Universal Serial Bus controllers. You will see a list of the USB ports installed on your computer.

Well, I used to run Symphonic Orchestra in Win XP with only 4GB Ram (until 2011), but I was also running the old NI version (before Play). I don't recommend it. Once you start using the bigger libraries, you'll choke. I highly recommend 16GB as a minimum.
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-08-2017, 12:42 AM
Dominik Raab Dominik Raab is online now
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,269
Dominik Raab is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by admin View Post
And this why we love Dominik, you would have to do a LOT of research to get this information otherwise ... thank you Dominik!
Wow, I saw this waaay too late. Don't make me blush, your highness!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-08-2017, 07:27 AM
widekeys widekeys is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 23
widekeys is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by newmusic View Post
Thanks. How can I tell if I have USB 3 ports? Also, 16 GB ram is for sure needed?
With my current Hollywood Orchestra Template, I sometimes wish I had more than 32 GB RAM. (Samples all stored on SSD)
I've loaded all the Instruments in VE Pro 6, Legato patch, staccato, trills, trem/flutter and some runs/fx + Divisi Strings. Connected to Cubase 9.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.