Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-23-2017, 12:47 PM
oleJoergensen oleJoergensen is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Denmark/Copenhagen
Posts: 984
oleJoergensen is on a distinguished road
Default

I use a intel 750 nvme, which is capable of 2000 MB/s read but the max is 180 MB/s when Play loads samples. Compared to sata ssd I have only seen slight difference.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-23-2017, 09:04 PM
Pochflyboy's Avatar
Pochflyboy Pochflyboy is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 233
Pochflyboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Good info. Thanks folks! That saved some cash. Can't wait for the day that samples can just stream straight from disk with no RAM pre loading.
__________________
Joseph Poch

PC:
Windows 10
Intel 5820k
48 GB Ram
Cubase 8.5
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-02-2017, 04:45 PM
fbeauvaisc's Avatar
fbeauvaisc fbeauvaisc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 38
fbeauvaisc is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Has anyone tested and timed the difference between loading a ''powerful system'' 13 layer patch from HS from a Sata III SSD vs an M.2 NVMe 960 EVO?

I'm not sure if sample libraries benefit from sequential read increased speeds.

Intel's 3D XPoint is also very promising.

I'm very curious about what could be the real world loading times from people who have actually compared the two. I'm currently rethinking my whole setup and am wondering where to invest. Pretty soon a slave computer will be pointless if Optane drives get large enough to store our libraries.
__________________
François Beauvais
www.francoisbeauvais.com

RME Fireface UFX
Master - p9x79 - i7-4820k - 32gb DDR3 - Win10 - Cubase 9.5
Slave - x79z - i7-3960x - 32gb DDR3 - Win10 - VE Pro 6
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-04-2017, 06:01 PM
action9000 action9000 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 222
action9000 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to action9000
Default

Quote:
So if you are streaming off an NVMe drive, can you get away with 32GB of ram and not need 64 or 128?
I would LOVE to see something like this be true but the limitation right now seems to be the PLAY engine (or at least its configuration). At the lowest setting (loading the least possible data into RAM), I still need a 128 GB build to load everything.

Unless PLAY's configuration lets us set the preload buffer smaller than the smallest allowable setting right now, no amount of hardware improvements will reduce the RAM requirements.
__________________
Intel i7 3930k
64GB RAM
M-Audio FastTrack C600
Samples on SSDs

FL Studio 64-bit / Cubase 8.5 Pro
Windows 10 Professional
HW Orchestra Diamond, EWQLSO Platinum, MoR, Colossus, Solo Violin, variety of 3rd-party libraries
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-05-2017, 08:05 AM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,751
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by action9000 View Post
I still need a 128 GB build to load everything.
Why do you need to load everything?
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.