Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Introduce Yourself
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2018, 04:18 PM
Spacemanvman Spacemanvman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 4
Spacemanvman is on a distinguished road
Arrow Greetings from Liverpool England from a Brand Newbie

Hello

My name is Vinnie. I played guitar for the Beatles drummer Pete Best.
Ok, so that's the boring bit out of the way.........
On to the meat & bones.


I've been using Logic Pro x for about 4 years so I guess you can call me a newbie to the electronic world.
I've played guitar since I was a kid and never ever thought about playing the keyboard.
I still can't play the keyboard however I did go to music school and learn the basics.
I'm like the equivalent as someone who uses two fingers to type on a computer keyboard.
That being said I do have a good ear and music is always going on in my mind and as you know, you have to get the music out or you feel grotty.
I actually do use two fingers and a thumb to type on a keyboard.

I am brand new to East West and have only this week subscribed to the library.

My mind is blown with the sounds and their quality, it's taken me a while to download a fair chunk of the libraries.
Now, I'm almost shaking with anxiety thinking of all the possibilities that lie before me.
I'm interested in learning more about the orchestration, building a good template, to create something that will eventually attract enough attention to get an opportunity making some music for a film project.
I am also interested in how you guys use the beats , loops to build songs as the licence says you cannot use the loops naked they have to be a small part of your song.
That being said how does the Orchestral pre recorded samples work?
So many questions, so much to learn,
Well I hope you guys will be kind enough to share your knowledge & wisdom to help me get on the way.
Thanks Vinnie.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2018, 09:15 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,114
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Hey Vinnie,

welcome to the forum.

Check my signature Tips and Tricks for a lot of links.

I've actually never really used the loops for my work.
Always programmed them afresh for my projects.

What do you mean with the "orchestral pre-recorded samples"?

Cheers.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, OS & DAWs - "On Drives" is being Updated
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2018, 10:47 AM
Spacemanvman Spacemanvman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 4
Spacemanvman is on a distinguished road
Default Thanks

Hey thanks

Will check out your tips...
Joined a few of the facebook groups.
I meant the orchestral samples.
Ive tried to build an Orchestral template however the mac has started to have a few issues with system overload and having trouble reading midi files? not seen that one before.
How do you guys do this as I haven't even added articulations yet.
Cheers Vinnie
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-23-2018, 03:39 PM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,114
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

You can find my template here: http://soundsonline-forums.com/showt...56007&p=787004

What's the exact error-messages, which you're receiving?
Can you perhaps attach a screenshot or send it to my mail?
Thanks.

--- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- --- ---

Misc computer / Play settings - Here are a few things, which
you can do to improve your DAW capabilities:

- Turn off WIFI and BlueTooth
- Unplug your LAN cable (basically, get off the internet)
- Turn off all background programs such as security etc.
Depending on your security settings, these might actually
be scanning the samples prior to them loading / playing.
- Only open your DAW. Check how many programs are
automatically run upon startup.

NOTE: Please remember that the turned off security settings
should be re-enabled prior to connecting to the internet again!

- Bounce to Audio and use a .wav file in lieu of live playback. This
will result in less system resources being used, but the downside
is that it can't be edited anymore.

p. 19: The Sample Cache feature allows you to determine how many
of the samples are loaded directly into RAM or are streamed from the drive.
Test out different levels to see what works best for you.
p. 56: The Sample Purge feature allows you to remove any not used
samples from the RAM.
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/d...ser-Manual.pdf
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, OS & DAWs - "On Drives" is being Updated
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2018, 04:48 PM
Spacemanvman Spacemanvman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 4
Spacemanvman is on a distinguished road
Default Logic

I gave up on the Orchestral test I was working on & started to have a play with the Fab Four plugin, pretty cool it is.

I'm just loading the orchestral track up and I'll take a few screen shots f the error messages.

I will try disconnecting from the internet and see how that goes.
I'm using an old mac. I will send a pic of the spec.

I normally do a bit then freeze the tracks I'm not working on.
The tracks are loaded separate I have not added any duplicate / multi-timbal tracks with articulations.
Not sure if thats the best way to be honest.
It's loaded now so I will email some screenshots.
Cheers Vinnie
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.