Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-24-2017, 02:45 PM
bobsstudio bobsstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: VA USA
Posts: 95
bobsstudio is on a distinguished road
Default How many SS Drives?

Hi Guys,

I'm finally upgrading my system again and getting a PC from ADK Pro.

I suppose I get one drive for the operating system and programs.

Another for music productions etc.

My question is, is it better to dump all my virtual instrument sample/sounds on one huge SS drive or is it better to spread them out over multiple smaller SS drives.

I will be using loads of East West stuff although NOT Hollywood. Plus Spectrasonics, Ivory and various other libraries.

Any thoughts greatly appreciated.

BobG

PS you can see from below how I'm upgrading from the Steam Age!!
__________________
ADK built - Core i7 HW-E X99A Motherboard: Xeon E5v4 support, Up to 128 Gig ram, 2 x PCI Express x1 Slots - 4 x PCI Express x16 Slots - 10 x USB Ports, 8 SATA 600. Intel - Core i7 6900K Processor: 3.2GHz (Turbo to 3.7GHz), 8-core, 20meg cache. 4 X 16GB DDR4 2666 1.25V. HD1: 4 X Samsung - 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 500 GB 2.5in Internal SSD Hard Drives. DYNAudio LYD 7's. Composer Cloudx,Ivory,Pro Audio Bluthner,Spectrasonics,Halion,Nine Volt Audio,GPO,Big Band,Strad,Halion,Kontakt,etc.
  #2  
Old 04-24-2017, 03:16 PM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,728
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

If you aren't using Hollywood stuff, then I would just go with a regular 7200 rpm drive(s). But if you don't mind paying a little more, then SSD all the way (one or more, doesn't really make a difference).

Why not Hollywood?
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
  #3  
Old 04-24-2017, 05:41 PM
mrdsee mrdsee is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 853
mrdsee is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm using 5 850 EVO SSD's
System 250gb(Don't go smaller than this)
Recording 250gb
and 3 500gb sample drives.

My 3 Sample drives are now pretty much full so I'll need to add an additional drive or two. I can have up to a total of 10 via the mother board. I also back up the samples etc via an external(my old) HDD.

SSD's all the way as the costs are very good right now, plus their super fast. I also chose to spread them out via multiple SSD's.

I almost went with ADK but found a good systems builder in Huntington Beach Ca that built and tested my system and it ended up saving a lot of cash.
__________________
Custom Made DAW Computer System by REMIS COMPUTER SOLUTIONS consisting of a Intel 5820k OC to 4.5Ghz, 32GB RAM, Windows 8.1, 5-850EVO SSD's, Pro Tools 11.3.1
EWSO, Spaces, Goliath, RA, Pianos, Steve Stevens, Choirs, Fab Four, MOR2, Gypsy, Solo Violin, SD2 Pro, SD3, Ghostwriter, VOP, Dark Side, Hollywood Strings&Brass Silver, SSL/EW FX
  #4  
Old 04-25-2017, 06:57 AM
tommyrack13 tommyrack13 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 111
tommyrack13 is on a distinguished road
Default

I've recently got a slave PC which has drives - one 480GB SSD for OS and apps, a 2TB HDD for bulk storage, a 2TB Samsung EVO 850 as sample drive 1, and a 1TB M.2 SSD for the super intensive libraries like Hollywood Strings Diamond.

So far, it's quite comfortably running a fairly large template from those two sample drives (Hollywood Orchestra Diamond with around 10 patches per instrument including the powerful legatos, plus multiple instances from Pianos Platinum and some other instruments, as well as a full orchestral library from another developer in Kontakt and some odds and ends). The only time I've experienced drop outs is during a test project where I have pretty much everything playing at once, but that's never going to be realistic. Also, using literally a single instance of one of the Ghostwriter guitars with amp sim engaged causes clicks, pops, spikes, etc. everywhere so that's an example of a patch that'll need to be used sparingly and not as part of the main template.

Anyway, the point of that is to say that running it from fewer drives seems fine, although I have heard that multiple drives can ease that load but I don't know if it's 100% necessary unless you're going to run something hugely intensive.

T
__________________
Tom Rackham - www.tomrackham.com
DAW - iMac 27" (late 2012) - 3.4GHz i7 - 32GB
Samples - eight core 3.4GHz i7 PC/Windows 10 - SSDs - 128GB
Various EWQL & other libraries - Cubase Pro 9.5 - Logic Pro X - Sibelius 7
  #5  
Old 04-25-2017, 10:20 AM
bobsstudio bobsstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: VA USA
Posts: 95
bobsstudio is on a distinguished road
Default

Guys thankyou so much for your input on this! All very helpful. As to HW strings etc. I just haven't got round to getting them yet. But tempted to go with composer cloud to cover all that. Again thanks, I'll keep posted as to progress.
__________________
ADK built - Core i7 HW-E X99A Motherboard: Xeon E5v4 support, Up to 128 Gig ram, 2 x PCI Express x1 Slots - 4 x PCI Express x16 Slots - 10 x USB Ports, 8 SATA 600. Intel - Core i7 6900K Processor: 3.2GHz (Turbo to 3.7GHz), 8-core, 20meg cache. 4 X 16GB DDR4 2666 1.25V. HD1: 4 X Samsung - 850 EVO MZ-75E500B/AM 500 GB 2.5in Internal SSD Hard Drives. DYNAudio LYD 7's. Composer Cloudx,Ivory,Pro Audio Bluthner,Spectrasonics,Halion,Nine Volt Audio,GPO,Big Band,Strad,Halion,Kontakt,etc.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.