Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-16-2018, 08:35 AM
tommyrack13 tommyrack13 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 129
tommyrack13 is on a distinguished road
Default

From the gorgeous pics of the new GUI that we've been treated to, it really doesn't look like it will be any more complicated from a user standpoint. The one major difference that seems to be in place in regards to how we'll be interacting with the software is the new decay - leave that knob alone and it looks like it should function just like the first one, which can only be a good thing. Hugely excited to get hands on this.

T
__________________
Tom Rackham - www.tomrackham.com
DAW - iMac 27" (late 2012) - 3.4GHz i7 - 32GB
Samples - eight core 3.4GHz i7 PC/Windows 10 - SSDs - 128GB
Various EWQL & other libraries - Cubase Pro 9.5 - Logic Pro X - Sibelius 7
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-16-2018, 08:54 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,642
admin has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MPDmike View Post
I have been really happy using Spaces 1 over the past several years, so I'm not sure why I would want to buy a separate new product.

Hopefully, there will be more information soon, but I am doubtful that I would want to add more complexity into my projects. Why can't this just be a Spaces upgrade, adding new reverb options to the original Spaces product?
SPACES II includes 353 brand new reverbs recorded over a 6 month period PLUS all of the content of SPACES I.

The 353 new spaces were deeply sampled, many with instrument specific reverbs similar to the SoCal Hall that was so popular in S1, we believe this is the only reverb on the market with this really important feature which takes the guesswork out of reverb selection.

We rebuilt the interface to include new features including a variable decay time while the decay time in S1 was fixed.

The convolution engine was rebuilt to be more efficient.

There is now a strong visual aspect missing from S1. SPACES II includes images of the spaces sampled, including those in S1. This helps the user decide if the space is consistent with their requirements.

We are confident it's overall a much better product with many great new locations sampled, in fact we strongly believe it's the absolute best reverb on the market due to the R&D we did at the start of the project, the methods we used, and the quality of the equipment we used.

Due to the vast number of changes SPACES II will not recall S1 presets saved in your projects. If you upgrade you will have a choice of loading old projects with the S1 interface or reset them using SPACES II. We will discontinue S1 on the release of SPACES II. Pricing for the S1 to SPACES II upgrade will be published on July 23.

We hope this info helps, we will be updating information on the product page through release date, so check out the manual when that is published in the next week for even more detail.

Last edited by admin; 07-16-2018 at 08:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-16-2018, 11:40 PM
peter5992's Avatar
peter5992 peter5992 is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 5,259
peter5992 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by admin View Post
SPACES II includes 353 brand new reverbs recorded over a 6 month period PLUS all of the content of SPACES I.

The 353 new spaces were deeply sampled, many with instrument specific reverbs similar to the SoCal Hall that was so popular in S1, we believe this is the only reverb on the market with this really important feature which takes the guesswork out of reverb selection.

We rebuilt the interface to include new features including a variable decay time while the decay time in S1 was fixed.

The convolution engine was rebuilt to be more efficient.

There is now a strong visual aspect missing from S1. SPACES II includes images of the spaces sampled, including those in S1. This helps the user decide if the space is consistent with their requirements.

We are confident it's overall a much better product with many great new locations sampled, in fact we strongly believe it's the absolute best reverb on the market due to the R&D we did at the start of the project, the methods we used, and the quality of the equipment we used.

Due to the vast number of changes SPACES II will not recall S1 presets saved in your projects. If you upgrade you will have a choice of loading old projects with the S1 interface or reset them using SPACES II. We will discontinue S1 on the release of SPACES II. Pricing for the S1 to SPACES II upgrade will be published on July 23.

We hope this info helps, we will be updating information on the product page through release date, so check out the manual when that is published in the next week for even more detail.

Very cool. Now I'll finally be able to see where my favorite reverb (SF Hall) was recorded.

Question: will it be VST2 or VST3 format?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-17-2018, 06:39 AM
MichaelShapiro MichaelShapiro is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 142
MichaelShapiro is on a distinguished road
Default

If I load up a S1 reverb in S2 and dial in the same settings (pre-delay etc) will the result sound comparable or subtly different?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 07-17-2018, 06:59 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,642
admin has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelShapiro View Post
If I load up a S1 reverb in S2 and dial in the same settings (pre-delay etc) will the result sound comparable or subtly different?
If you don't adjust the Decay Time feature, or change anything else, it will sound the same.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 07-17-2018, 07:01 AM
MichaelShapiro MichaelShapiro is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 142
MichaelShapiro is on a distinguished road
Default

Great. I love that it's truly backwards-compatible.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 07-19-2018, 03:26 AM
Dominik Raab Dominik Raab is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,321
Dominik Raab is on a distinguished road
Default

Can Spaces 1 and Spaces 2 be installed on the same machine as different plug-ins? I'd like to update my template with Spaces 2 on all tracks, but still be able to load old projects with the old template.

I understand I will have a choice upon loading, but making that choice would be an additional step when loading old projects. Can that step be circumvented?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 07-19-2018, 04:29 AM
QuestionGuy QuestionGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Mainz
Posts: 53
QuestionGuy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to QuestionGuy
Default

Spaces I and II will be different plugins. With choice they mean you can decide which plugin you load. There is no extra step. You have both in your folder/list.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 07-19-2018, 10:03 AM
Dominik Raab Dominik Raab is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,321
Dominik Raab is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuestionGuy View Post
Spaces I and II will be different plugins. With choice they mean you can decide which plugin you load. There is no extra step. You have both in your folder/list.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 07-20-2018, 07:35 AM
pablo1980 pablo1980 is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 19
pablo1980 is on a distinguished road
Default

Will Spaces 2 work with Ilok1?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.