Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2018, 09:28 AM
doug hazelrigg doug hazelrigg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: decatur, il
Posts: 97
doug hazelrigg is on a distinguished road
Default Remove Reverb From Hollywood Solo Cello?

I know that many of the EW libraries have the reverberant signal sampled with the direct...I also know that using the Close mic eliminates much of the indirect signal. But I'm a CC subscriber (Gold) and it looks like I'd need to upgrade to Diamond to do that? Still, I thought there was a "backdoor" way to remove the reverb tails from the signal -- ??
__________________
hamer usa studio guitar
crate v32 palomino amp
that's pretty much it
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2018, 01:36 PM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,809
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Some of the samples automatically turn on the Legato Performance Script.
E.g.: p. 15-16 explains a bit about how legato works in Solo Cello.
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/d...nstruments.pdf
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support

Some helpful threads: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On Harddrives
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.30, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2018, 01:58 PM
Bryan's Avatar
Bryan Bryan is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 501
Bryan is on a distinguished road
Default

[QUOTE=LMW;784795]Some of the samples automatically turn on the Legato Performance Script.
E.g.: p. 15-16 explains a bit about how legato works in Solo Cello.
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/d...nstruments.pdf[/QUOTE

He was asking about reverb not legato. Just a head's up!
__________________
SO, SC, SD2, MOR, Goliath, TDS, Gypsy, Ra, VOP, HS, HB, Spaces, HWW, Arpeggio, EZD, HIPP, Sultan Strings, Deep Percussion Beds, Vivace, OS2, Sonar 8.5
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2018, 12:21 AM
trumpoz's Avatar
trumpoz trumpoz is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,760
trumpoz is on a distinguished road
Default

I think Lorenz meant to say sometimes reverb is turned on automatically with the legato script.

You can upgrade to CCX and get the extra mic position. It is a 12-month commitment instead of month by month.

Last edited by admin; 01-25-2018 at 09:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2018, 05:01 AM
ecurb ecurb is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Blue Mountains, Australia
Posts: 45
ecurb is on a distinguished road
Default

Not sure if the legato script factor is actually your problem, as I don't have HW Cello so I don't know how wet the raw gold samples are.

However I have noticed with other instruments that you can get around that effect of the legato script switching reverb on automatically, if you want to, by just turning the reverb level right down to zero. So it still will switch on, but at zero send volume.

Aside from that... I guess you could try turning down volume of the release trail samples in the Play interface perhaps?

Bruce.
__________________
i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 32G RAM, Tascam US-322
Windows 10, Reaper, Sibelius 8.6
EWQL CCC2 Pro - SO, HW Brass, Strings & Woodwind, Pianos, Symphonic Choirs, Spaces
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2018, 10:18 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,582
admin has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doug hazelrigg View Post
I know that many of the EW libraries have the reverberant signal sampled with the direct...I also know that using the Close mic eliminates much of the indirect signal. But I'm a CC subscriber (Gold) and it looks like I'd need to upgrade to Diamond to do that? Still, I thought there was a "backdoor" way to remove the reverb tails from the signal -- ??
Unless it's a solo piece you should put it in with the other instruments than see if it's still too wet, typically Cellos are recorded in ambient environments, a large studio of concert hall.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.