Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-07-2017, 08:33 AM
composerman composerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
composerman is on a distinguished road
Default Workstation PC for Hollywood Orchestra DIAMOND

I am planning to purchase Hollywood Orchestra (Diamond) sometime over the next couple months. However, I would like to make sure that my PC will be able to run it without issues. My specs are below:

DAW: Cubase 8.5 Pro
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
CPU: Intel i7-6850K 6-Core 3.6 GHz
Motherboard: Asus X99 Deluxe ii (LGA 2011-v3)
RAM: 64GB (16GB x 4 Quad Channel)
Video Card: Gigabyte Radeon RX 470
Storage for OS: SSD 250GB (Samsung Evo 850)
Storage for sample libraries: SSD 1TB (Samsung Evo 850)
Other storage: HDD 1TB
Audio Interface: Audient iD14 (USB 2.0)

I currently use numerous EastWest/QuantumLeap products through the basic composer cloud. I am currently using Hollywood Orchestra library (Gold, not Diamond) without problems, except random and frequent CPU spikes (causing pops/crackles) that occur unless I increase my buffer size (which happens only for Play Engine-based libraries). I have no problem recording with buffer size of of 128-256 with Other VSTs/libraries combined including Omnisphere, RMX, and various third-party Kontakt-based libraries. However, when I use any Play engine-based instruments (especially StormDrum 3), I have to increase my buffer size to 512 or above to prevent random CPU spikes. All my drivers (including audio and video card drivers) are up-to-date.

Considering that the Diamond version of Hollywood Orchestra is more resource demanding than the Gold version, should I expect problems with my PC specs? I do not have a slave machine.
  #2  
Old 03-08-2017, 04:05 PM
Dominik Raab Dominik Raab is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,267
Dominik Raab is on a distinguished road
Default

Your RAM and SSD (do install HS Diamond on the SSD!) should be sufficient. I don't have any experience with CPU spikes on my system, so I don't know if they'll intensify with the more demanding libraries. Then again, I'm always at a 512 buffer size. I do hope someone else can help you there.
  #3  
Old 03-09-2017, 12:46 AM
mrdsee mrdsee is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 852
mrdsee is on a distinguished road
Default

Your system is close to mine except I use Pro Tools. You should be able to Over Clock your CPU to 4.3-4.4Ghz if it's an average chip. This will yield some added performance. Also make sure there's no unnecessary background services running, etc. Here's some W10 optimizations you can try.

https://support.focusrite.com/hc/en-...-on-Windows-10


I'm still using Play 4
So if your on Play 5 try the different streaming settings, etc.
__________________
Custom Made DAW Computer System by REMIS COMPUTER SOLUTIONS consisting of a Intel 5820k OC to 4.5Ghz, 32GB RAM, Windows 8.1, 5-850EVO SSD's, Pro Tools 11.3.1
EWSO, Spaces, Goliath, RA, Pianos, Steve Stevens, Choirs, Fab Four, MOR2, Gypsy, Solo Violin, SD2 Pro, SD3, Ghostwriter, VOP, Dark Side, Hollywood Strings&Brass Silver, SSL/EW FX
  #4  
Old 03-10-2017, 08:28 AM
composerman composerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
composerman is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the reply! I just realized that a f.lux software (removes blue light, similar to night shift mode on iOS) which I have running in the background is the culprit for the random CPU spikes! After uninstalling it, it fixed the random spikes.

My PC can now handle PLAY instruments including Hollywood Orchestra Gold (via standard Composer Cloud) with buffer of around 256 (or even below) without issues so far, although still more demanding than Kontakt instruments. How much more demanding is Diamond versus Gold version of Hollywood Orchestra?
  #5  
Old 03-10-2017, 08:41 AM
jamieboo jamieboo is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 354
jamieboo is on a distinguished road
Default

That's interesting about f.lux.
I use it and haven't noticed any huge problems, but I wonder if I would get better performance without it.
Did you actually uninstall it, or simply deactivate it?
__________________
i7 5820K, AsRock X99 Extreme6 Mobo, 32gb RAM, 4x Samsung EVO 850 500gb SSDs, Steinberg UR22 Audio Interface
Windows 10 64bit
Cubase 8 and, tentatively, 9.
Hollywood Orchestra Diamond
EWQLSO Platinum
https://soundcloud.com/jamie-treacher
  #6  
Old 03-10-2017, 09:47 AM
composerman composerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
composerman is on a distinguished road
Default

I did not try deactivating f.lux. I just uninstalled it completely, and the random CPU spikes with PLAY instruments disappeared!
  #7  
Old 03-10-2017, 11:21 AM
mrdsee mrdsee is offline
Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: California
Posts: 852
mrdsee is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by composerman View Post
Thanks for the reply! I just realized that a f.lux software

Good deal!
Always best to disable/remove unnecessary background etc services.
Did you discover it using Task Manager analysis?
__________________
Custom Made DAW Computer System by REMIS COMPUTER SOLUTIONS consisting of a Intel 5820k OC to 4.5Ghz, 32GB RAM, Windows 8.1, 5-850EVO SSD's, Pro Tools 11.3.1
EWSO, Spaces, Goliath, RA, Pianos, Steve Stevens, Choirs, Fab Four, MOR2, Gypsy, Solo Violin, SD2 Pro, SD3, Ghostwriter, VOP, Dark Side, Hollywood Strings&Brass Silver, SSL/EW FX
  #8  
Old 03-10-2017, 11:27 AM
composerman composerman is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
composerman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrdsee View Post
Good deal!
Always best to disable/remove unnecessary background etc services.
Did you discover it using Task Manager analysis?
I did not discover it using task manager or any of those latency monitoring software. I randomly played around with turning on/off or uninstalling background programs until I found out that it was f.lux.
Closed Thread

Tags
cpu, cubase, diamond, hollywood orchestra, windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.