Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-26-2015, 05:53 AM
arseniyonline arseniyonline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
arseniyonline is on a distinguished road
Default Which SSD? is 4k read or read more important?

Hello, I am considering to get Samsung 1tb 850 Pro, but for Ģ65 more I can get intel 400gb PCIe SSD which has over 3x times faster read speed. However, its 4k read speed is only 12% faster (43.8mb/s instead of samsung's 39mb/s).

If 4k is more important for loading VST's into play I will go for Samsung, if general read is more important I think I will go for Intel and put Hollywood strings on there with maybe choirs or some other instrument.

Any advice?
__________________
Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 i7 2nd gen, 16GB CL9 RAM (2133mhz) partitioned OCZ vector 150 240gb for OS, Cubase and some instruments. OCZ agility 3 60gb for some more instruments. WD black 4tb for the rest.
(looking to get Evo 850 pro 1tb)
  #2  
Old 09-26-2015, 08:53 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,040
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Iīd go for the 850 Pro. It has more space, so if you ever want to add a library, you wonīt run out so easily.
My drives (840 EVO) are enough for me. Iīm using Diamond and Platinum versions
and I donīt have any streaming problems with them.

64k sectors are recommended for sample drives. The sample files are usually a little bit larger than 4k.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On DAWs - "On Drives" is being Updated
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii

Last edited by LMW; 09-26-2015 at 09:00 AM.
  #3  
Old 09-26-2015, 10:32 AM
Patanjali's Avatar
Patanjali Patanjali is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,236
Patanjali is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMW View Post
... sectors ...
As I have had pointed out to me after using the term 'sectors' incorrectly for years, the term in Windows is 'allocation units'.
__________________
Patanjali
Half of DevaKnighT at devaknight.com. All recordings done in Cubase at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : Geil 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : 55" 4K TV + 23" touchx2 : SSDx6 : UAD-2Q.
HW: Nmn U87Ai : JA-251x2 : Korg padKontrol+nanoKEY2 : No audio for now : M-Patch2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win8.1P64 : Cubase 8.0.20 : Goliath : SO PP : Pianos : Gypsy : SV : Sup/Drum 2.0 : AT7 : Ozone 6Ad : RX3Ad.
  #4  
Old 09-26-2015, 02:15 PM
arseniyonline arseniyonline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 36
arseniyonline is on a distinguished road
Default

Yeah, I thought about it and I'll probably buy 2tb PCIe in like 5 years and they'll probably be around Ģ200 by then with 2000mb/s read/write speeds.

Is 'allocation units' something I set when formatting the drive with any software or some special one?
__________________
Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 i7 2nd gen, 16GB CL9 RAM (2133mhz) partitioned OCZ vector 150 240gb for OS, Cubase and some instruments. OCZ agility 3 60gb for some more instruments. WD black 4tb for the rest.
(looking to get Evo 850 pro 1tb)
  #5  
Old 09-26-2015, 09:36 PM
Patanjali's Avatar
Patanjali Patanjali is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,236
Patanjali is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arseniyonline View Post
Is 'allocation units' something I set when formatting the drive with any software or some special one?
At the Format dialog in Windows, after selecting the Format... option on the right-click menu for the drive/partition letter.

Of course, it blows away the data already on it.
__________________
Patanjali
Half of DevaKnighT at devaknight.com. All recordings done in Cubase at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : Geil 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : 55" 4K TV + 23" touchx2 : SSDx6 : UAD-2Q.
HW: Nmn U87Ai : JA-251x2 : Korg padKontrol+nanoKEY2 : No audio for now : M-Patch2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win8.1P64 : Cubase 8.0.20 : Goliath : SO PP : Pianos : Gypsy : SV : Sup/Drum 2.0 : AT7 : Ozone 6Ad : RX3Ad.
  #6  
Old 09-27-2015, 08:04 PM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,040
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Eh, Iīve always been calling it sectors. Whatīs wrong with sectors?
Is it already used in another context? Do you know what itīs called on Macs?
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On DAWs - "On Drives" is being Updated
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii
  #7  
Old 09-27-2015, 09:15 PM
Patanjali's Avatar
Patanjali Patanjali is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,236
Patanjali is on a distinguished road
Default

Sector is the actual size of the unit that the drive formats the disk data with. Has been 512B for HDDs, but going to 4kB under the Advanced Format.

In the earlier days of PC, before drives got 'intelligent' enough to tell the OS about themselves, the BIOS had to be told the drive parameters: # of cylinders (tracks), # of heads, and sector size. Later on, the drives themselves got smart enough to pretend to be whatever the BIOS thought they were, but internally did their own thing anyway. I think this is where my persistent use of 'sector' started.

But the sector size is not necessarily the size that the OS can use as the minimum size lots to allocate to files, though they are best if multiples of the sector size. The minimum allocation unit size for Windows is 4kB.

Why not just use the native sector sizes? Because there is less OS overhead to marshal requests, manage buffers, etc, which can be quite significant, as using 64kB vs 4kB can be 30-50% faster for mixed size files. For all large files, it could be more.

The downside is that for small files, there is more chance of partially filled allocation units. That is because the last (or only) allocation unit will likely be partial, and for large files, that partial will be a lesser % of the file, as ALL other units will be full.

For multimedia files, like audio and samples, the great majority tend to be several MBs, so the overhead is less than 1%, whereas for the OS drive, it can be 8%.
__________________
Patanjali
Half of DevaKnighT at devaknight.com. All recordings done in Cubase at 192k.
Comp: i7-4930K : Asus P9X79-E WS : Geil 32GB : GV-N750OC-2GI : 55" 4K TV + 23" touchx2 : SSDx6 : UAD-2Q.
HW: Nmn U87Ai : JA-251x2 : Korg padKontrol+nanoKEY2 : No audio for now : M-Patch2 : Tannoy Reveal Active+TS-12.
SW: Win8.1P64 : Cubase 8.0.20 : Goliath : SO PP : Pianos : Gypsy : SV : Sup/Drum 2.0 : AT7 : Ozone 6Ad : RX3Ad.
  #8  
Old 09-30-2015, 06:24 AM
JBlongz's Avatar
JBlongz JBlongz is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 464
JBlongz is on a distinguished road
Default

Did anyone else notice that Samsung has a 2TB 850 series?
__________________
Apollo Twin|Early 2013 Retina MacBook Pro 15" Loaded, Akitio Neutrino Thunderbolt + 2TB 850 Pro SSD) YouTube
  #9  
Old 09-30-2015, 08:53 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,040
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Patanjali.

What 2TB 850?? *Mindblown*
Itīs got a hefty pricetag, but itīs still affordable.

If you really want to blow your brains away, google "PM1633a".
Nothing beats a 16 TB drive. One for my OS, one for my samples
and one for my projects. That should do, right?
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, Tips and Tricks, On DAWs - "On Drives" is being Updated
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung T1 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii

Last edited by LMW; 09-30-2015 at 09:13 AM.
  #10  
Old 09-30-2015, 10:37 AM
JBlongz's Avatar
JBlongz JBlongz is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 464
JBlongz is on a distinguished road
Default

http://amzn.com/B010QD6RX4
__________________
Apollo Twin|Early 2013 Retina MacBook Pro 15" Loaded, Akitio Neutrino Thunderbolt + 2TB 850 Pro SSD) YouTube
Closed Thread

Tags
lmw

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.