Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2015, 12:51 AM
jfuchs23's Avatar
jfuchs23 jfuchs23 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 94
jfuchs23 is on a distinguished road
Default AMD Processors

I've used Hollywood Strings with an AMD system and currently on an Intel system. With the (somewhat old) news that AMD has an eight core processor that can run at 5.0 Ghz I'm finding the switch tempting. I'm just not sure if the software has some sort of preference for Intel processors due to design.
I was even looking into some dual processor (AMD Opteron) systems that would give me 32 cores at 3.4 ghz and an option for 128 gigs of ram

AMD a good way to go for these massive libraries?
  #2  
Old 10-06-2015, 11:39 AM
nitrocan nitrocan is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 243
nitrocan is on a distinguished road
Default

Yeah except that AMD 8 cores perform worse than Intel 4 core i5s, maybe due to how inter-core communication is handled.

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Core-i...vs-AMD-FX-8350
  #3  
Old 10-07-2015, 02:05 PM
trumpoz's Avatar
trumpoz trumpoz is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,765
trumpoz is on a distinguished road
Default

Vin Curligliano (search DAWBench) highly recommends audio users stay away from AMD. The guy is also a custom DAW builder and has done a hell of a lot of research in to real time audio. Worth taking that advice.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.