Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > Hardware
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2019, 05:02 AM
Magic Giraffe Soundworks Magic Giraffe Soundworks is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 23
Magic Giraffe Soundworks is on a distinguished road
Default Tracking Down Issues with Play

Hey folks - to begin with, let me say that I realize this is not an actual issue with Play itself, just something that occurred while using it. Last night I attempted for the first time to load up one of my Hollywood series templates to score a short animation in Logic. This caused some issues with crackling, popping, other such things that have thus far not happened since I built my new monster of a PC.
My basic setup is this:

-PC (specs in signature) running VEP with lots of instances of Play
-iMac running Logic

Some additional info: I had one section where I was using a full string ensemble and had around 8 notes hitting at once for a short run and then one single spiccato note. Once I eliminated the octave doubling in violas, cellos, and basses, that particular issue went away, but performance issues persisted. But at any rate, taking out notes that I want to use is not a solution.

I can tell there is an issue to address, and I am relatively certain it is specifically being caused by the additional strain from Logic running video simultaneously, but I can't tell where the issue is. I adjusted every setting I could find to allow for maximum performance for both machines, but to no avail. My guess is that this is going to be a hardware issue with the iMac, though I'm not sure if it would be related to amount of RAM or the processor speed. Any suggestions on where or how to determine what the exact issue is?
__________________
-iMac (Mid-2011) Intel Core i5 2.5 GHz, 24GB RAM
-Custom PC - Ryzen 7 2700X 3.7GHz 8-core processor, 64 GB RAM
-WD MyBook Velociraptor 2TB 10000 RPM HDD
-EW Composer Cloud Plus, EWQLSO Platinum, Symphonic Choirs Gold, QL RA

Magic Giraffe Soundworks!
http://www.magicgiraffesoundworks.com
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCKM...OmDffPp-a1jeQg
http://www.facebook.com/magicgiraffesoundworks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2019, 07:25 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,236
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Hey,

to further diagnose the issue, please answer as many of the following bulletin
points as possible. If you're not sure of an answer, just leave it empty. They
encompass a bit more info than what you have in your specs. Thank you.

Operating System (OS):
Digital Audio Workstation (DAW):
Play engine version:

RAM (in MHz | amount in GB):
CPU (in GHz | amount of cores):
Please also give the utilization in %.

What drives do you use? Do you have a dedicated setup with only
samples on the sample drive? Important information would be
- the drive format (e.g. FAT32, exFAT, NTFS, Mac OS Journaled, AFPS)
- the drive speed (e.g. 5400/7200rpm / SSD)
- the drive connection (e.g. PCIe, SATA, Firewire, USB)
- the Sample Cache value which is available in Play > Settings > Streaming.

Please list that information for the drives which you use.
Drive OS:
Drive Samples:
Drive Projects:
Drive Other:

Audio interface (soundcard):
Buffer size:

Slave / Master connection:

---

Misc computer / Play settings - Here are a few things, which
you can do to improve your DAW capabilities:

- Turn off WIFI and BlueTooth
- Unplug your LAN cable (basically, get off the internet)
- Turn off all background programs such as security etc.
Depending on your security settings, these might actually
be scanning the samples prior to them loading / playing.
- Only open your DAW. Check how many programs are
automatically run upon startup.

NOTE: Please remember that the turned off security settings
should be re-enabled prior to connecting to the internet again!

- Bounce to Audio and use a .wav file instead of live playback. This
will result in less system resources being used, but the downside
is that it can't be edited anymore.

p. 19: The Sample Cache feature allows you to determine how many
of the samples are loaded directly into RAM or are streamed from the drive.
Test out different levels to see what works best for you.
p. 56: The Sample Purge feature allows you to remove any not used
samples from the RAM.
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/d...ser-Manual.pdf

Cheers.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, My Template, Tips and Tricks, OS & DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung 1x T1 & 2x T5 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.