Go Back   Soundsonline-Forums > Topics > General Discussion (no support posts)
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-20-2018, 09:24 AM
TonyF TonyF is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 11
TonyF is on a distinguished road
Default about to do something wreckless?

So I don't have a powerful enough PC to run HO Diamond + "yet" but I can't seem to talk myself out of purchasing it given the incredible discounted prices through the end of this month.

It will take about a year before I can afford a new PC. Is it a good idea to buy this library and just sit on it for a year?

Have yet to purchase any EW software so I don't know their software registration procedure. Is there a way to register without actually installing it?

If this is a stupid idea feel free to talk me out of it.

P.S. This apparently ships on a 7200rpm HD. Is it an internal or external drive?

Thanks.
  #2  
Old 11-20-2018, 11:40 AM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,242
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Hey Tony,

that's possible.

The license: Wouldn't be an issue. You could either activate it to your current
account, or just leave it ready for activation in your account. If anything happens,
always feel free to contact us for a license re-issue.

Hollywood Orchestra Diamond does indeed require the harddrive due to the
size of the libraries, which are not available as a download via our Installation
Center. You can create back-ups of that drive, or just take good care of it.
Mine still works after four years, so that's also basically a non-issue.

It's an external 7200rpm, USB 3.0, 1TB harddrive.

Cheers.
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, My Template, Tips and Tricks, OS & DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung 1x T1 & 2x T5 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii
  #3  
Old 11-22-2018, 10:15 AM
widekeys widekeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 33
widekeys is on a distinguished road
Default

Bad idea!

EW Sample Libraries get cheaper with time and there is a sale every other month. No need to spend your money now if in a year Hollywood Choirs might be even cheaper (compare price development of Hollywood Strings, which started at 1,495$ [see Tim Currans review at http://www.soundsonline.com/hollywood-strings review tab] and went down year after year. You can buy it for 160$ today.)
  #4  
Old 11-22-2018, 11:42 AM
jspencer jspencer is offline
Diamond Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, Canada, Eh!
Posts: 3,862
jspencer is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyF View Post
So I don't have a powerful enough PC to run HO Diamond + "yet"
What are your system specs as of now?
__________________
http://www.jeremyspencer.ca
  #5  
Old 11-29-2018, 11:28 AM
TonyF TonyF is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 11
TonyF is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jspencer View Post
What are your system specs as of now?
It's a Dell Inspiron with an i77** quad core CPU. Came with 8G of RAM which I upgraded to 16G (it's max).

Came here last summer just before I lost my job looking for advice and was leaning toward EWSO which several forum members suggested due to the inefficiencies of my laptop.

Was planning on a new, dedicated audio PC but shortly thereafter I lost my job. Best I could do was dedicate my Dell for audio and I'm using an HP for general purpose computing.

At that time LMW recommended that I upgrade my system drive (5400 rpm) to an SSD which I also did.

I decided to go with EWSO Platinum. It's about half the price and best thing is I can use it right now. I used the remainder of the money I would have spent on EWHO and bought Symphonic Choirs which I can also use right now.

Don't do a ton of orchestral stuff but EWHO just sounds so brilliant. Knew I'd be impulsive and buy a new PC while EWHO was "sitting on the shelf" so this purchase is much more pragmatic, IMO.

When I find a new job, I'll get a new PC and probably do the composer cloud thingy but for now I think these choices will serve me well. Even though EWSO is an older library it is still much better sounding than my two current libraries from other software developers.

Thanks for all the help and guidance.
  #6  
Old 11-29-2018, 08:50 PM
LMW's Avatar
LMW LMW is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,242
LMW is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Tony,

with a bit of tweaking, your current setup should still definitely be usable!

Misc computer / Play settings - Here are a few things, which
you can do to improve your DAW capabilities:

- Turn off WIFI and BlueTooth
- Unplug your LAN cable (basically, get off the internet)
- Turn off all background programs such as security etc.
Depending on your security settings, these might actually
be scanning the samples prior to them loading / playing.
- Only open your DAW. Check how many programs are
automatically run upon startup.

NOTE: Please remember that the turned off security settings
should be re-enabled prior to connecting to the internet again!

p. 19: The Sample Cache feature allows you to determine how many
of the samples are loaded directly into RAM or are streamed from the drive.
Test out different levels to see what works best for you.
p. 56: The Sample Purge feature allows you to remove any not used
samples from the RAM.
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/d...ser-Manual.pdf

See if that helps you in any way.

All the best for your job search!
__________________
Lorenz W. - EastWest Technical Support - E-Mail: lorenz@eastwestsounds.com

Helpful links: Sample Path, Library Sizes, My Template, Tips and Tricks, OS & DAWs
Hardware: OS W7 Pro, i7-4910MQ 2,9 GHz (Overclock to 3,9 GHz), 32GB RAM, int. 3TB 840 EVO SSDs,
ext. 1TB Samsung 1x T1 & 2x T5 + 6TB backup + UR22 Interface + Kawai MP7 (88 Keys) + Yamaha MS60S Speakers
Software: Cubase Pro 8.0.40, PLAY v6.X.X, EastWest et multi alii
  #7  
Old 11-29-2018, 09:53 PM
TonyF TonyF is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 11
TonyF is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LMW View Post
Hi Tony,

with a bit of tweaking, your current setup should still definitely be usable!

Misc computer / Play settings - Here are a few things, which
you can do to improve your DAW capabilities:

- Turn off WIFI and BlueTooth
- Unplug your LAN cable (basically, get off the internet)
- Turn off all background programs such as security etc.
Depending on your security settings, these might actually
be scanning the samples prior to them loading / playing.
- Only open your DAW. Check how many programs are
automatically run upon startup.

NOTE: Please remember that the turned off security settings
should be re-enabled prior to connecting to the internet again!

p. 19: The Sample Cache feature allows you to determine how many
of the samples are loaded directly into RAM or are streamed from the drive.
Test out different levels to see what works best for you.
p. 56: The Sample Purge feature allows you to remove any not used
samples from the RAM.
http://www.soundsonline-forums.com/d...ser-Manual.pdf

See if that helps you in any way.

All the best for your job search!
When I was forced to dedicate the Dell for audio I completed a number of windows OS optimizations such as you suggested. Since I loaded my DAW software and in the process of learning the program so far not having any issues. Checking RAM and cpu performance in task manager nothing I saw would indicate I'm stressing the system.

Will DL the pdf and take a look at pages 19 and 56 in particular.

Will let you know how it all turns out after I get the iLok machine license thing squared away and install the libraries.

Thanks again.
  #8  
Old 12-27-2018, 12:24 AM
charles1237's Avatar
charles1237 charles1237 is offline
Silver Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Geneva
Posts: 387
charles1237 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Tony!
I can tell you that SO Platinum and SC are both really great!
I've got them (with Stormdrum 2 for awesome percussions) for many years and I can certify you they are absolutely not "out of date", believe me
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/papillonmusical

OS X Sierra 10.12, iMac 27' i5 3.2 Ghz/ 24 Go RAM, Logic Pro X, M-Audio Keystation 88es, EWQL "Symphonic Choirs Bundle", "Storm Drum 2 Pro", "Symphonic Orchestra Platinum".
  #9  
Old 12-28-2018, 08:02 PM
Shad0wLandsUK Shad0wLandsUK is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 23
Shad0wLandsUK is on a distinguished road
Default

Yep, very good libraries
__________________
Master
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid-2012) 64GB RAM macOS 10.13.6 LPX 10.4.3, PT 12.8, Ableton Live 9
Kontakt 6.0.5, PLAY 6.0.9 + VEP 6, Waves, Plugin Alliance
Waves DigiGrid D, Focusrite Saffire Pro 24
Slave
i7 4770K, 32GB RAM Windows 10 Pro 1803 Cubase Pro 10.0.5,
Composer Cloud Plus + PLAY 6 + VEP 6
Portfolio: https://soundcloud.com/straightouttathebox
  #10  
Old 12-28-2018, 08:05 PM
Shad0wLandsUK Shad0wLandsUK is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 23
Shad0wLandsUK is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyF View Post
When I was forced to dedicate the Dell for audio I completed a number of windows OS optimizations such as you suggested. Since I loaded my DAW software and in the process of learning the program so far not having any issues. Checking RAM and cpu performance in task manager nothing I saw would indicate I'm stressing the system.

Will DL the pdf and take a look at pages 19 and 56 in particular.

Will let you know how it all turns out after I get the iLok machine license thing squared away and install the libraries.

Thanks again.
I myself have an i7 4770K machine with 32GB RAM. I admit all heavy libraries are shared across 4 SSDs though. But the CPU s still more than ample for my work.have every single instrument of HWO loaded with 5 patches in each one
__________________
Master
Mac Pro 12-Core (Mid-2012) 64GB RAM macOS 10.13.6 LPX 10.4.3, PT 12.8, Ableton Live 9
Kontakt 6.0.5, PLAY 6.0.9 + VEP 6, Waves, Plugin Alliance
Waves DigiGrid D, Focusrite Saffire Pro 24
Slave
i7 4770K, 32GB RAM Windows 10 Pro 1803 Cubase Pro 10.0.5,
Composer Cloud Plus + PLAY 6 + VEP 6
Portfolio: https://soundcloud.com/straightouttathebox
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.